Last Updated: February 16, 2024, 11:16 am by TRUiC Team


How Much Does It Cost to Start an LLC in Alaska?

The cost to start an LLC (limited liability company) online in Alaska is $250. This fee is paid to the Alaska Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development when filing the LLC’s Articles of Organization.

We recommend Northwest ($29 + State Fees) to help form your LLC.

How Much Does an LLC Cost in Alaska?

Alaska LLC Online Filing Fee: $250

The main cost to start an LLC in Alaska is the $250 fee to file your LLC's Articles of Organization online with the Alaska Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development.

For a look at LLC costs in every state, read our other Cost to Start an LLC and How to Form an LLC guides.

Alaska Initial Report Fee: $0

Alaska requires LLCs to file an initial report with the Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development within six months of formation.

You can submit an initial report online or by mail.

Alaska Business License: $50

All Alaska LLCs must purchase a business license for $50 in order to conduct business activity within the state. This can be done online or by submitting Form 08-4181 by mail, by fax, or in person.

Cost to Form a Foreign LLC in Alaska

If you already have an LLC that is registered in another state and you’d like to expand your business into Alaska, you’ll need to register your LLC as a foreign LLC in Alaska.

The cost for registering an Alaska foreign LLC is $350. You can register a foreign LLC in Alaska by filing a Certificate of Registration of a Foreign Limited Liability Company and submitting it online, by mail, by fax, or in person.

Optional LLC Formation Costs

There are optional fees associated with LLC formation:

LLC Name Reservation:

File a Business Name Reservation Form (Form 08-559) and pay the $25 filing fee to reserve your name for up to 120 days prior to LLC formation. This can be done online, by mail, by fax, or in person.

DBA Business Name:

File a Business Name Registration Form (Form 08-557) and pay the $25 filing fee to create a name other than your legal LLC business name. This can be done online, by mail, by fax, or in person.

How to Start an LLC Tip Icon

Ready to Start Your Alaska LLC?

Read our LLC formation services review to choose the best service for you.

Ongoing Alaska LLC Cost Considerations

When considering starting a Limited Liability Company (LLC) in Alaska, one must factor in not only the initial costs but also the ongoing costs that come with maintaining an LLC.

Here are the primary ongoing Alaska LLC costs:

  • Annual Report Filing: In Alaska, all LLCs are required to file a biennial (every two years) report. The fee for this report is $100. The report can be filed with the Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development.
  • Business Name Renewal: If you have a business name (DBA) in the state of Alaska, you will need to continually renew it every five years for $25.
  • Business License Renewal: All Alaska LLCs must maintain an active business license to operate in the state. These licenses can be renewed annually for $50 or biennially for $100.
  • Registered Agent Fee: Alaska law requires every LLC to appoint a registered agent. The cost for this can vary depending on whether you act as your own agent or hire a professional service, which can range from $100-$300 annually.

Understanding these costs can help estimate the total cost of running an LLC in Alaska, compare them to other states, and ascertain which expenses are tax-deductible.

How to Register an Alaska LLC Yourself

Forming an LLC in Alaska is doable for the average entrepreneur. By carefully following the nine steps outlined below, you can navigate the process without too much effort.

Recommended: Using an LLC formation service like Northwest ($29 + State Fees) saves time and ensures compliance. Besides the low cost, we like their streamlined approach and excellent customer service.

Nine Basic Steps to Start an LLC in Alaska

Step 1: Name Your Alaska LLC
Step 2: Choose a Registered Agent
Step 3: File the Article of Organization
Step 4: Create an Operating Agreement
Step 5: Get an EIN
Step 6: File the Initial Report
Step 7: Apply for a Business License
Step 8: File Alaska LLC Biennial Report
Step 9: Keep Your Company Compliant

Step 1: Name Your Alaska LLC

When you name your Alaska LLC, you’ll need to choose a name that:

  1. Is available for use in the state of Alaska
  2. Meets Alaska naming requirements
  3. Is available as a web domain

Recommended: Visit our Start an LLC in Alaska guide for detailed naming rules and instructions for registering a business name in Alaska.

Not sure what to name your business? Check out our How to Name a Business guide and free LLC Name Generator.

We recommend that you check online to see if your business name is available as a web domain. Even if you don't plan to create a business website today, you may want to buy the URL in order to prevent others from acquiring it.

Find a Domain Now

Step 2: Choose a Registered Agent

All LLCs in Alaska must appoint a registered agent. A registered agent primarily acts as your LLC’s main point of contact with the state. But most importantly, they are responsible for accepting service of process in the event your business is sued.

Your Alaska registered agent must be:

  • At least 18 years or older
  • Have a physical address in Alaska
  • Available during normal business hours to accept service of process

Get Free Registered Agent Services

Form an LLC with Northwest Registered Agent to get one year of registered agent services free of charge.

Step 3: File the Article of Organization

The Alaska Form 08-484 - Articles of Organization is a document that is filed with the Alaska Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development to form an LLC. The fee for filing the Articles of Organization is $250.

For detailed instructions for completing the Articles of Organization, visit our How to File the Alaska Articles of Organization guide.

File an Alaska Articles of Organization

OPTION 1: File Online With the Alaska Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development

File Online

- OR -

OPTION 2: File Form 08-484 by Mail, by Fax, or in Person

Form 08-484

State Filing Cost: $250, payable to the State of Alaska

Mailing Address:
State of Alaska Corporations Section
P.O. Box 110806
Juneau, AK 99811

Office Address:
333 Willoughby Ave., 9th Floor
State Office Building
Juneau, AK 99801-1770

Fax: (907) 465-2974

Step 4: Create an Operating Agreement

An operating agreement isn't required for Alaska LLCs, but it's a good practice to have one.

What is an operating agreement? An operating agreement is a legal document outlining the ownership and operating procedures of an LLC.

Why are operating agreements important? A comprehensive operating agreement ensures that all business owners are on the same page and reduces the risk of future conflict.

For more information on operating agreements, read our Alaska LLC operating agreement guide.

Step 5: Get an EIN

What is an EIN? An EIN or Employer Identification Number is a nine-digit number issued by the Internal Revenue System (IRS) to identify a business for tax reporting purposes. An EIN is essentially a Social Security number (SSN) for your company.

Why do I need an EIN? An EIN number is required for the following:

How to Start an LLC Tip Icon

Free EIN: You can get an EIN from the IRS website (free of charge) after forming your business.

Step 6: File the Initial Report

After submitting the Articles of Organization, Alaska LLCs must file an initial report with the state within six months of filing. This can be done online or by printing a pre-populated form to submit by mail or by fax. There is no filing fee.

In order to complete the initial report, you will need to know the following information:

  • LLC name and Alaska Entity Number
  • Registered agent address
  • LLC member names and ownership percentage
  • NAICS code

File Your Alaska LLC Initial Report

File Online, by Mail, or by Fax With the Alaska Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development

FILE REPORT

Fee: None

Mailing Address:
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development
P.O. Box 110806
Juneau, AK 99811-0806

Fax:
907-465-2974

Due Date: Due within six months of LLC formation.

Step 7: Apply for a Business License

Alaska businesses must also obtain an Alaska Business License in order to conduct activity within the state.

Apply for an Alaska Business License

OPTION 1: Apply Online With the Alaska Department of Commerce

FILE ONLINE

- OR -

OPTION 2: File by Mail, by Fax, or In Person

DOWNLOAD FORM

Fee: $50

Mailing Address:
State of Alaska Corporations Section
P.O. Box 110806
Juneau, AK 99811

Office Address:
333 Willoughby Ave., 9th Floor
State Office Building
Juneau, AK 99801-1770

Fax: 907-465-2974

You can choose whether to renew this license annually (every year) or biennially (every two years). This can also be done online or by submitting a hard copy renewal form by mail, by fax, or in person. The filing fee is $50 annually and $100 biennially. 

If your business license has been expired for more than two years, you must reapply for a new license.

Step 8: File Alaska LLC Biennial Report

After filing an initial report, Alaska LLCs must file a biennial report by January 2 of every second year after formation (e.g., LLCs formed in odd-numbered years will file a biennial report in odd-numbered years).

You can file this report online or by printing and submitting a pre-populated form by mail or fax. A $100 filing fee is required.

Step 9: Keep Your Company Compliant

Maintaining compliance for your Alaska LLC involves several key aspects. Here is a summary of what you need to keep in mind:

  • Business Licenses & Permits: Complying with federal, state, and local regulations is critical. The licenses and permits you'll need will depend on your business's specific operations.
  • Alaska LLC Tax Requirements: Be aware of Alaska's unique tax situation. The state does not impose a statewide sales tax or income tax (though federal income tax will still apply). Municipal or city sales tax may apply, and you must register for Unemployment Insurance Tax if you have employees.
  • Employee Hiring Compliance: If your LLC hires employees, you must verify their eligibility to work in the US, report new hires to the state, provide workers' compensation insurance, withhold employee taxes, and display workplace compliance posters.

Understanding and meeting these compliance requirements can help ensure smooth operation of your LLC in Alaska. 

How to Start an LLC Tip Icon

Steps After LLC Formation

Read all the steps you’ll need to maintain your LLC’s personal liability protection, open a business bank account, get business insurance, and stay up to date with state reporting requirements.

Visit our After Forming an LLC guide to learn more.

Alaska LLC Cost FAQ

The cost to form a limited liability company (LLC) in Alaska is $250. This fee is the required charge when filing your LLC's Articles of Organization with the Alaska Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development.

Yes, you can form an LLC in Alaska by yourself. It may take more time and require you to understand the process more deeply, but it may also cost you less. Use our free How to Start an LLC in Alaska guide to help you with this process.

While the filing fee of $250 is the main cost, you may also need to pay for a registered agent service and a business license, depending on your location in Alaska. These costs can vary based on the service or city/town, respectively.

A registered agent is a person or business that is designated to receive legal documents on behalf of your LLC. This includes official government notifications, such as legal summons and document filings.

No, the cost of a registered agent service is not included in Alaska’s $250 formation filing fee. The cost for this service varies depending on the service you choose.

In some cities and towns in Alaska, you are required to obtain a business license to operate your LLC. The cost for a business license varies based on the location.

No, Alaska does not have a state business tax. What’s more, the only employer tax in Alaska that you’ll need to register for is Unemployment Insurance Tax.

Yes, you can hire a professional LLC formation service to set up your LLC in Alaska. These services typically charge between $100 and $200, which is an additional cost to the state filing fee.

If you hire a professional LLC formation service, you will still be responsible for the $250 state filing fee. Additionally, you may need to pay for a registered agent service and potentially a business license, depending on your location within Alaska.

Article Sources

Alaska Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development - Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing:
https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/

IRS - Employer ID Numbers:
https://www.irs.gov/businesses/small-businesses-self-employed/employer-id-numbers

SBA - Apply for Licenses and Permits:
https://www.sba.gov/business-guide/launch-your-business/apply-licenses-permits

Chamber of Commerce - Alaska Chamber of Commerce List:
https://www.officialusa.com/stateguides/chambers/alaska.html