How to Dissolve an LLC in Arkansas
If you no longer wish to conduct business with your LLC, it is important to officially dissolve it. Failure to do so in a timely fashion can result in tax liabilities and penalties, or even legal trouble.
To dissolve an LLC in Arkansas, simply follow these three steps:
Step 1: Follow Your Arkansas LLC Operating Agreement
- Holding a vote with LLC members to dissolve the LLC
- Recording the dissolution vote in the LLC’s meeting minutes
- Determining the formal date of dissolution
- Distribution of LLC assets
- Notifying creditors and settling any business debts
If your LLC does not have any set dissolution procedures in its operating agreement, you should consult the state for further instruction.
Step 2: Close Your Business Tax Accounts
Every active Arkansas LLC has various tax accounts that are maintained by different departments within the Arkansas State government. Before you can dissolve your LLC, you must first pay off all taxes and/or fines owed to these accounts.
Here are some of the common taxes your LLC may owe:
- If you have or have had employees in Arkansas:
- Unemployment Insurance Tax
- Employee Withholding Tax
- If your LLC sells or has sold taxable goods or services in Arkansas:
- Sales & Use Tax
- Any industry specific taxes
Closing your tax accounts usually involves simply filing a final return to the appropriate agency. However, some accounts require submitting other official paperwork. If you need assistance in closing your tax accounts, it may be helpful to hire a Certified Public Accountant.
NOTE: None of your LLC's tax accounts can be closed if they have a remaining balance. All taxes, penalties, fees, and interest must be paid in full before you can dissolve your LLC.
Step 3: File Articles of Dissolution
In Arkansas, you must file a Final Report at the same time as your Articles of Dissolution and pay the $150 minimum tax
Arkansas requires business owners to submit their Articles of Dissolution by mail.
File the Arkansas LLC Articles of Dissolution
File by mailDownload Form
Filing Fee: $50
Arkansas Secretary of State
1401 W. Capitol, Suite 250
Little Rock, AR 72201
You can also have a professional service provider file your Articles of Dissolution for you. Bizee (formerly Incfile) prepares the Articles of Dissolution for you, and files them to the state for $149 + State Fees.
Other Arkansas LLC Resources
- Best LLC Services
- How to Start an LLC in Arkansas
- Arkansas LLC Operating Agreement
- How Much Does It Cost to Start an LLC in Arkansas
- How to Start a Business in Arkansas
- How to File an Arkansas LLC Certificate of Organization
- How to Register a Business Name in Arkansas
- Certificate of Good Standing Arkansas
- How to Start a Corporation in Arkansas
- How to Start a Nonprofit in Arkansas
- How To Name a Business In Arkansas
- How to Get a DBA in Arkansas
- Arkansas LLC Name Search