Cost to Form an LLC in Arkansas

The cost to start an Arkansas limited liability company (LLC) online is $50. This fee is paid to the Arkansas Secretary of State when filing the LLC’s Certificate of Organization.

Use our free Form an LLC in Arkansas guide to do it yourself.

Or simply use a professional service:

four point six out of five ZenBusiness ($39 + State Fees)

Three out of Five Stars LegalZoom ($149 + State Fees)


How Much Does an LLC Cost in Arkansas?

Arkansas Online LLC Filing Fee: $50

The main cost of forming an LLC is the $50 fee to file your LLC's Certificate of Organization online with the Arkansas Secretary of State.

Arkansas Franchise Tax: $150

Arkansas LLCs must pay a $150 franchise tax each year by May 1. This can be done online or by mail. There is a $25 late filing fee, plus interest.

Registered Agent Fee

In Arkansas you can be your own registered agent, but using a registered agent service helps keep your company in compliance and reminds you of important filing deadlines and avoid late fees.

Registered agent fees start at $39 for the first year. We recommend using:

OR:

Read our guide to learn more about Arkansas Registered Agents. You can also read our full guide on the best registered agent services.

Cost to Form a Foreign LLC in Arkansas

If you already have an LLC that is registered in another state and you’d like to expand your business into Arkansas, you’ll need to register your LLC as a foreign LLC in Arkansas.

The cost for registering an Arkansas foreign LLC is $270 online or $300 in person or by mail. You can register a foreign LLC in Arkansas by filing an Application for Certificate of Registration of Foreign LLC (Form FL-01).

Business Permits and Licenses

Depending on your industry and geographical location, your business might need federal, state, and local permits/licenses to legally operate in Arkansas. This is true whether you form an LLC or any other type of business structure.

Learn more about state and local licensing with our guide to getting an Arkansas business license.

Other LLC Filing Costs

There are optional fees associated with LLC formation:

LLC Name Reservation:
Reserve your name for up to 120 days prior to LLC formation by filing an LLC Name Reservation (Form RN-06) and paying the filing fee. There is a $22.50 filing fee for online filing and a $25 filing fee if filing by mail or in person.

Doing Business As (DBA) Name:
File an Application for Fictitious Name (Form DN-18) and pay the filing fee to create a name other than your legal LLC business name. The filing fee is $25 for online filing and $22.50 if filing by mail.

Certified Document Copies:
Obtain certified copies of your Arkansas business documents by ordering through the Secretary of State and paying $5 +$0.50 per page.

Certificate of Good Standing:
An Arkansas certificate of good standing can be obtained by ordering through the Secretary of State and by paying the $25 fee. A certificate of good standing is often required by banks and lending institutions. This can be ordered online or by mail.

How to Register an Arkansas LLC Yourself

Forming an LLC yourself is easy; just follow the five steps below.

Recommended: If you already have a business that is running as a sole proprietorship, visit our How to Change from a Sole Proprietorship to LLC page.

Five Basic Steps to Start an LLC in Arkansas

Step 1: Name Your Arkansas LLC
Step 2: Choose a Registered Agent
Step 3: File the Certificate of Organization
Step 4: Create an Operating Agreement
Step 5: Get an EIN

Step 1: Name Your Arkansas LLC

When you name your Arkansas LLC, you’ll need to choose a name that:

  1. Is available for use in the state of Arkansas
  2. Meets Arkansas naming requirements
  3. Is available as a web domain

Recommended: Visit our Start an LLC in Arkansas guide for detailed naming rules and instructions for registering a business name in Arkansas.

Not sure what to name your business? Check out our How to Name a Business guide and free LLC Name Generator.

We recommend that you check online to see if your business name is available as a web domain. Even if you don't plan to create a business website today, you may want to buy the URL in order to prevent others from acquiring it.

Find a Domain Now

Powered by GoDaddy.com

Step 2: Choose a Registered Agent

All LLCs in Arkansas must appoint a registered agent. A registered agent primarily acts as your LLC’s main point of contact with the state. But most importantly, they are responsible for accepting service of process in the event your business is sued.

Your Arkansas registered agent must:

  • Be at least 18 years or older
  • Have a physical address in Arkansas
  • Be available during normal business hours to accept service of process
The Truic Flame Logo

Recommended: Get a free year of registered agent services when you hire ZenBusiness to form your LLC. $39 (plus state fees).

ZenBusiness

Step 3: File the Certificate of Organization

The Arkansas Form LL-01 - Certificate of Organization is a document that is filed with the Arkansas Secretary of State to form an LLC. The fee for filing the Certificate of Organization is $50.

For detailed instructions for completing the Certificate of Organization, visit our How to File the Arkansas Certificate of Organization guide.

File the Arkansas Certificate of Organization

OPTION 1: File Online With the Arkansas SOS Corporations Online Filing System

File Online

- OR -

OPTION 2: File Form LL-01 by Mail or In Person

Form LL-01


State Filing Cost: $50, payable to the Secretary of State

Filing Address:
Arkansas Secretary of State
1401 W. Capital Ave.
Suite 250
Little Rock, AR 72201

Step 4: Create an Operating Agreement

An operating agreement isn't required for Arkansas LLCs, but it's a good practice to have one.

What is an operating agreement? An operating agreement is a legal document outlining the ownership and operating procedures of an LLC.

Why are operating agreements important? A comprehensive operating agreement ensures that all business owners are on the same page and reduces the risk of future conflict.

For more information on operating agreements, read our Arkansas LLC operating agreement guide.

Step 5: Get an EIN

What is an EIN? An EIN or Employer Identification Number is a nine-digit number issued by the Internal Revenue System (IRS) to identify a business for tax reporting purposes. An EIN is essentially a Social Security number (SSN) for your company.

Why do I need an EIN? An EIN number is required for the following:

The Truic Flame Logo

Free EIN: You can get an EIN from the IRS website (free of charge) after forming your business.

Arkansas LLC Cost FAQ

Do you have to pay for an Arkansas LLC every year?

Yes, you have to pay an Arkansas LLC franchise tax of $150 each year.

Is an LLC really necessary?

An LLC provides limited liability protection. This means an LLC protects your personal assets in the event of a business loss, such as a lawsuit or unpaid debt.

We recommend any small business that carries even the smallest amount of risk or liability to form an LLC. Learn more in our Should I Start an LLC guide.

What is the cheapest way to get an LLC?

You can save money on getting an LLC by completing the formation process yourself, making your own operating agreement, being your own Agent for Service of Process, and getting your own EIN.

Check out our How to Save Money Forming Your LLC guide to learn more.

Can I pay myself a salary from my LLC?

You can pay yourself a salary from your LLC, but it would be called a draw or distribution if your LLC is taxed in the default way by the IRS.

Visit our How to Pay Myself from an LLC guide to learn more.

Is an S corp better than an LLC?

An S corporation (S corp) is an IRS tax status, not a type of business entity. An LLC can be taxed in the default way or as an S corp. For some businesses, being taxed as an S corp can make lots of sense.

Check out our LLC vs. S corp guide to find out if S corp status is right for your business.

What’s better: sole proprietorship or LLC?

A sole proprietorship is only good for businesses that carry very low risk of liability because sole proprietorships don’t offer any liability protection.

Learn more in our sole proprietorship vs. LLC guide.

More Arkansas Small Business Resources

Article Sources