How Much Does It Cost to Start an LLC in Kansas?

The cost to start an LLC (limited liability company) online in Kansas is $160. This fee is paid to the Kansas Secretary of State when filing the LLC’s Articles of Organization.

Use our free Form an LLC in Kansas guide to do it yourself.

Or simply use a professional service:

four point six out of five Northwest ($39 + State Fees)


How Much Does an LLC Cost in Kansas?

Kansas LLC Online Filing Fee: $160

The main cost to start an LLC is the $160 fee to file your LLC's Articles of Organization online with the Kansas Secretary of State.

For a look at LLC costs in every state, read our other Cost to Start an LLC and How to Form an LLC guides.

Kansas Annual Report Fee: $50

Kansas requires LLCs to file an annual report with the Secretary of State.

You can submit this form through the Kansas Secretary of State website or by mail. The filing fee is $50 online and $55 by mail.

Registered Agent Fee

In Kansas you can be your own registered agent (known in Kansas as a resident agent), but using a registered agent service helps keep your company in compliance and reminds you of important filing deadlines and avoid late fees.

OR:

Read our guide to learn more about Kansas Registered Agents. You can also read our full guide on the best registered agent services.

Cost to Form a Foreign LLC in Kansas

If you already have an LLC that is registered in another state and you’d like to expand your business into Kansas, you’ll need to register your LLC as a foreign LLC in Kansas.

The cost for registering a Kansas foreign LLC is $165. You can register a foreign LLC in Kansas by filing an Application for Registration of Foreign Covered Entity (Form FA).

Business Permits and Licenses

Depending on your industry and geographical location, your business might need federal, state, and local permits/licenses to legally operate in Kansas. This is true whether you form an LLC or any other type of business structure.

Learn more about state and local licensing with our guide to getting a Kansas business license.

Other LLC Filing Costs

There are optional fees associated with LLC formation:

LLC Name Reservation:
Reserve your name for up to 120 days months prior to LLC formation by filing an LLC Name Reservation Form (Form NR) and paying the $30 online or $35 mail filing fee.

Certified Document Copies:
Obtain certified copies of your Kansas business documents by ordering through the Secretary of State and paying $15 plus $1 for each page.

Certificate of Good Standing:
Also known as a Kansas certificate of good standing, you can obtain this document by ordering through the Secretary of State and paying the $10 online fee or $15 mail fee. A certificate of good standing is often required by banks and lending institutions.

How to Register a Kansas LLC Yourself

Forming an LLC yourself is easy; just follow the five steps below.

Recommended: If you already have a business that is running as a sole proprietorship, visit our How to Change from a Sole Proprietorship to LLC page.

Five Basic Steps to Start an LLC in Kansas

Step 1: Name Your Kansas LLC
Step 2: Choose a Registered Agent
Step 3: File the Articles of Organization
Step 4: Create an Operating Agreement
Step 5: Get an EIN

Step 1: Name Your Kansas LLC

When you name your Kansas LLC, you’ll need to choose a name that:

  1. Is available for use in the state of Kansas
  2. Meets Kansas naming requirements
  3. Is available as a web domain

Recommended: Visit our Start an LLC in Kansas guide for detailed naming rules and instructions for registering a business name in Kansas.

Not sure what to name your business? Check out our How to Name a Business guide and free LLC Name Generator.

We recommend that you check online to see if your business name is available as a web domain. Even if you don't plan to create a business website today, you may want to buy the URL in order to prevent others from acquiring it.

Find a Domain Now

Step 2: Choose a Resident Agent

All LLCs in Kansas must appoint a resident agent. A resident agent primarily acts as your LLC’s main point of contact with the state. But most importantly, they are responsible for accepting service of process in the event your business is sued.

Your Kansas resident agent must:

  • Be at least 18 years or older
  • Have a physical address in Kansas
  • Be available during normal business hours to accept service of process
The Truic Flame Logo

Recommended: Get a free year of registered agent services when you hire Northwest Registered Agent to form your LLC. $39 (plus state fees).

Get Started

Step 3: File the Articles of Organization

The Kansas Form DL - Articles of Organization is a document that is filed with the Kansas Secretary of State to form an LLC. The fee for filing the Articles of Organization is $160 online and $165 by mail.

For detailed instructions for completing the Articles of Organization, visit our How to File the Kansas Articles of Organization guide.

File the Kansas Articles of Organization

OPTION 1: File Online With KanAccess

File Online

- OR -

OPTION 2: File Form DL by Mail

Form DL


State Filing Cost: $160 online, $165 by mail, payable to the Secretary of State

Mailing Address:
Kansas Office of the Secretary of State
Memorial Hall, 1st Floor
120 S.W. 10th Avenue
Topeka, KS 66612

Step 4: Create an Operating Agreement

An operating agreement isn't required for Kansas LLCs, but it's a good practice to have one.

What is an operating agreement? An operating agreement is a legal document outlining the ownership and operating procedures of an LLC.

Why are operating agreements important? A comprehensive operating agreement ensures that all business owners are on the same page and reduces the risk of future conflict.

For more information on operating agreements, read our Kansas LLC operating agreement guide.

Step 5: Get an EIN

What is an EIN? An EIN or Employer Identification Number is a nine-digit number issued by the Internal Revenue System (IRS) to identify a business for tax reporting purposes. An EIN is essentially a Social Security number (SSN) for your company.

Why do I need an EIN? An EIN number is required for the following:

The Truic Flame Logo

Free EIN: You can get an EIN from the IRS website (free of charge) after forming your business.

Kansas LLC Cost FAQ

Do you have to pay for a Kansas LLC every year?

Kansas LLCs must pay a $50 annual report fee every year. Visit our Kansas LLC annual report guide for more information.

Is an LLC really necessary?

An LLC provides limited liability protection. This means an LLC protects your personal assets in the event of a business loss, such as a lawsuit or unpaid debt.

We recommend any small business that carries even the smallest amount of risk or liability to form an LLC. Learn more in our Should I Start an LLC guide.

What is the cheapest way to get an LLC?

You can save money on getting an LLC by completing the formation process yourself, making your own operating agreement, being your own registered agent, and getting your own EIN.

Check out our How to Save Money Forming Your LLC guide to learn more.

Can I pay myself a salary from my LLC?

You can pay yourself a salary from your LLC, but it would be called a draw or distribution if your LLC is taxed in the default way by the IRS.

Visit our How to Pay Yourself from an LLC guide to learn more.

Is an S corp better than an LLC?

An S corporation (S corp) is an IRS tax status, not a type of business entity. An LLC can be taxed in the default way or as an S corp. For some businesses, being taxed as an S corp can make lots of sense.

Check out our LLC vs. S corp guide to find out if S corp status is right for your business.

What’s better: sole proprietorship or LLC?

A sole proprietorship is only good for businesses that carry very low risk of liability because sole proprietorships don’t offer any liability protection.

Learn more in our sole proprietorship vs. LLC guide.

More Kansas Small Business Resources

Article Sources