Rhode Island Sales Tax Guide

Rhode Island Flag

SALES TAX RATE:

7.00%

MAXIMUM LOCAL & COUNTY RATES:

None

Navigation box icon

Read this Guide

This guide simplifies compliance with Rhode Island's sales tax code by breaking down the process into four easy steps:

Professional service icon

Use a Professional Sales Tax Service:

One such reliable service:


TaxJar
 helps entrepreneurs with eCommerce sites calculate sales tax at checkout ($17/month)


WHICH GOODS AND SERVICES ARE TAXABLE?

Determining whether or not the products or services your company sells are taxable in Arizona is the first step in sales tax compliance.

Traditional Goods or Services

Goods that are subject to sales tax in Rhode Island include physical property, like furniture, home appliances, and motor vehicles.

The purchase of prescription medicine, groceries, gasoline and clothing are tax-exempt.

Some services in Rhode Island are subject to sales tax. For a detailed list of taxable services view this table from the Rhode Island Department of Revenue website.

Digital Goods or Services

A digital good or service is anything electronically delivered, such as an album downloaded from iTunes or a film purchased from Amazon.

Rhode Island does not require businesses to collect sales tax on the sale of digital goods or services.

However, Rhode Island has one exception to this policy. Businesses must collect sales tax on pre-written computer software that is sold online.

HOW TO REGISTER FOR Rhode Island SALES TAX

If you determined that you need to charge sales tax on some or all of the goods and services your business sells, your next step is to register for a sellers permit. This allows your business to collect sales tax on behalf of your local and state governments.

In order to register, you will need the following information:

  • Personal identification info (SSN, address, etc.)
  • Business identification info (EIN, address, etc.)
  • Business entity type
  • Date began doing business in Rhode Island
  • Description of business activity
Recommended action box icon

Register for a Sellers Permit online through the Rhode Island Department of Revenue

GET A SELLERS PERMIT

Fee: $10

Expiration: $10 for a Yearly Renewal

Save Money with a Resale Certificate

With a resale certificate, also known as a reseller's permit, your business does not have to pay sales tax when purchasing goods for resale.

 
Recommended action box icon

Download the Resale Certificate through the State of Rhode Island Department of Revenue

Download Resale Certificate

Instruction: Present the certificate to the seller at the time of purchase.

COLLECTING SALES TAX

After getting your seller's permit and launching your business, you will need to determine how much sales tax you need to charge different customers. To avoid fines and the risk of costly audits, it's important for business owners to collect the correct rate of sales tax.

When calculating sales tax, you'll need to consider the following kinds of sales:

  • Store Sales
  • Shipping In-State
  • Out-of-State Sales
Recommended action box icon

**Recommended: Use our Sales Tax Calculator to look up the sales tax rate for any Zip Code in the US.

In-state Sales

Calculating sales tax on goods sold in Rhode Island is easy. Simply charge the 7.000% flat sales tax rate on all items whether selling in store or shipping across the state.

Out-of-state Sales

Rhode Island businesses only need to pay sales tax on out-of-state sales if they have nexus in other states. Nexus means that the business has a physical presence in another state.

Common types of nexus include:

  • physical location, such as an office, store, or warehouse
  • An employee who works remotely or who is a traveling sales representative
  • marketing affiliate
  • Drop-shipping from a third party seller.
  • temporary physical location, including festival and fair booths.

FILE YOUR SALES TAX RETURN

Now that you’ve registered for your Rhode Island seller's permit and know how to charge the right amount of sales tax to all of your customers, you are all set to file your sales tax return. Just be sure to keep up with all filing deadlines to avoid penalties and fines.

How to File

Rhode Island requires businesses to file sales tax returns and submit sales tax payments online.

 
Recommended action box icon

File the Rhode Island Sales Tax Return

You will do this with the RI Business Tax Filings page through the Rhode Island Department of Revenue.

FILE ONLINE

How Often Should You File?

How often you need to file depends upon the total amount of sales tax your business collects.

  • All Businesses that collect sales tax will file on a monthly basis. If, however, for six consecutive months your business has an average sales tax liability of less than $200.00, you may request to file quarterly instead.

**Note: Rhode Island requires you to file a sales tax return even if you have no sales tax to report.

Filing Deadlines

All Rhode Island sales tax return deadlines fall on the 20th day of the month, unless it is a weekend or federal holiday, in which case the deadline is moved back to the next business day. Below is a list of this year’s filing deadlines:

 

Quarterly filing:

  • Q1 (Jan. - Mar.): Due April 30
  • Q2 (April - June): Due July 31
  • Q3 (July - Sept.): Due October 31
  • Q4 (Oct. - Dec.): Due January 31

Monthly filing: The 20th of the following month, or the next business day, e.g. April 20 for the month of March, or May 22 for the month of April.

Penalties for Late Filing

Rhode Island charges a late filing penalty of 10% of the tax that is reported on the tax return.

The state assesses the unpaid tax with an interest rate of at least 12% per year.

Rhode Island Helpful Resources

Rhode Island Sales Tax Frequently Asked Questions

Rhode Island Business Taxes Help Number: 
(401) 574 - 8484