Step 1: Choose a Business Structure
The type of business structure you choose to form will determine how you register the business with the state. Use our how to choose a business structure guide to help choose which business structure is best for you, whether it’s sole proprietorships, general partnerships, limited liability companies (LLCs), and corporations.
The factors you should consider when choosing a business structure will depend on your needs and wants for personal liability protection, tax liabilities, and paperwork to keep the company in compliance.
Sole Proprietorships and General Partnerships
By default, sole proprietorships operate as the same name as the owner while general partnerships must include the surnames of all the partners.
LLCs and Corporations
Both LLCs and corporations require unique names in Arkansas that must follow certain naming requirements:
Step 2: Check Name Availability
When registering a business name, it's important to make sure it's unique and no one else in your state formed a company with it or has control of it online as a domain name.
Domain Name Search
We strongly recommend that you also check to see if your business name is available as a web domain (URL). Even if you don't plan to create a business website today, you may want to buy the web address to prevent others from acquiring that domain name. If the web domain is available then it’s likely the name will also be available in a business search.
Find a Domain Now
Arkansas Business Name Search
Next, search the Arkansas Secretary of State’s business entity search tool. This is an important step in the process because your filing will be denied if you try to file for a name already in use.
Search requirements can vary depending on your business needs. For example, a unique and available name is required to:
- File for formal business structures like LLCs and corporations.
- File a DBA name for any business structure.
A state-level name search isn’t required for informal business structures like sole proprietorships or general partnerships in Arkansas. But, if you decide to register a fictitious name or DBA name, you’ll need to search the database to see if your desired name is unique and available.
Step 3: Form Your Business With the State of Arkansas
Once you have selected your business structure and name, you will need to file your formation documents with the state, which will register your business with the state of Arkansas.
To register your Arkansas LLC, you'll need to file the Certificate of Organization with the Arkansas Secretary of State. You can apply online, by mail, or in person. Read our Form an LLC in Arkansas guide for details.
To register your Arkansas corporation, you’ll need to file the Articles of Incorporation with the Arkansas Secretary of State. Read our Form an Arkansas Corporation guide to learn more.
Protect Your Business Name With a Trademark (Optional)
Once you confirm the availability of your business name and secure it, you can choose to apply for a trademark for your business. This typically costs around $225 to $400 plus any attorney fees as well as a renewal fee every 10 years.
While this cost can be high for a start-up or fledgling business, it will give your company brand nationwide protection backed by federal law. That means if others try to do business with the same — or a similar — name as yours, you’ll have legal precedent on your side. For most small businesses, this really isn't necessary unless they are thinking of going national.
How to Change the Name of an Arkansas Business
Changing the name of a business in Arkansas can be done in two ways: by filing for a fictitious name or by submitting an amendment to the legal name of an existing business.
The first method, filing for a fictitious name (also known as a DBA name), is the easiest way to operate your business using a different name without needing to change its legal name.
A DBA name is the only way for sole proprietorships and general partnerships to have a different business name. It’s also the easiest method for LLCs and corporations to follow because it allows them to avoid filing an amendment or complicating their business operations while enabling them to operate with brand names that don’t include the necessary LLC or Inc. suffix required in a legal name.
If you want to change the legal name of your LLC or corporation, however, filing an amendment to the legal name of an existing business is your best option. Here are links to forms for both options:
You may submit both online or by mail. The LLC form requires a $25 filing fee while the corporation form has a $50 filing fee.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does it cost to start a business in Arkansas?
Forming an Arkansas LLC is easily done by filing a Certificate of Organization with the Arkansas Secretary of State for a fee of $50.
Does Arkansas require a business license?
In Arkansas, a state board, commission, or association regulates most required business licensing. For more information on how to obtain the licensing required to operate your Arkansas business, visit the state’s Business and Commercial Services webpage.
How much is a small business license in Arkansas?
The cost of your business licensing will vary based on the nature of your business. For example, licensing required for a salon or barbershop will differ from that of a restaurant or food-service establishment.
How do I file state taxes in Arkansas?
Filing state taxes will vary based on the type of business you choose to form. For example, the taxes you must file for a single-member LLC will differ from a business that chooses to be taxed as an S corp. To better understand how to file taxes for your Arkansas business, read our LLC Taxes by State guide.